Chicago

Monday, May 8th, 2017, 8:42 p.m.

This morning, my parents and I started our trip to Chicago and Lake Michigan! We left New Concord, Ohio around 11 a.m. and headed up to Cleveland, where my mom had a doctors appointment. We arrived in Cleveland around 1:30 p.m. and left around 2 p.m. We then drove to our hotel in Portage, Indiana. Along the way, we drove through Akron, Oh., Cleveland, Oh. and South Bend, In. (Notre Dame). We arrived at our hotel around 7 p.m. and went to Texas Roadhouse for dinner.

Tuesday, May 9th, 9:36 p.m.

This morning we got up and had breakfast at our hotel. We then got in the car and headed off to Chicago! We left our hotel around 9:30 a.m. and arrived in Chicago around 11 a.m. Our first stop was the Hard Rock Cafe to pick up my shot glass! When my mom and I were in Chicago previously, I wasn’t collecting shot glasses. We then drove down the Magnificent Mile and headed to Millennium Park!

Once we figured out where to park, we walked into Millennium Park. The park was absolutely beautiful! We were able to see the Bean! That was something that my mom and I didn’t get to do last time, so we were really excited. The Bean was a lot larger than I thought it was going to be. After seeing the Bean, we continued to walk around Millennium Park and took some pictures of the skyline. We then headed back to our car. We were going to go to the Chicagoe riverwalk, but the parking was really expensive and it looked like it was going to rain. We also tried to go to a beach north of downtown, but it was closed. We did get to see Navy Pier along the way though! Around 1 p.m., we decided to head back to the hotel and do something near our hotel. We stopped at a Culver’s for lunch.

We got back to our hotel around 3 p.m. and decided to go see the Century of Progress Historic District that had been advertised in a brochure that I found at the hotel. It was about 30 minutes from our hotel. The district is in the town of Beverly Shores, In. and features about 6 different homes along the shore of Lake Michigan. These homes were built for the 1933 Chicago’s World Fair and were called the “homes of tomorrow” because they had things like A/C and dishwashers. We couldn’t go inside the homes (but you can during a week in October when they give tours) but we looked at them from the outside. They were very pretty and had stunning views of the lake! I liked the pink house the best!

We then drove through the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and ended up going to West Beach to hike the Dune Succession Trail. We started the trail by going up lots of stairs which lead to a lookout. I thought that we had made it to the main lookout, but after going down some stairs and then back up some more stairs, we made it to the main lookout. The view from the top of the dune was incredible! We could see the lake and some smaller dunes. We headed down the trail towards the beach and I found a smaller dune to stand on. When we finally made it to the beach, my mom started looking for rocks while I took my shoes off to go in the water. My dad said I was nuts, but he held my shoes for me. Haha! The water was freezing! I barely made it to my ankles before I had to turn around. From the beach, we could almost make out the Chicago skyline. We would’ve been able to see it better if it had been sunny. I tried to take some pictures but they didn’t turn out. We then headed back to our car and went back to our hotel. We then went to Applebees for dinner. Tomorrow we are off to Michigan to see some beaches and lighthouses!

Leave a Reply

