Maybe I Should Just Move to Charleston…

Today my mom and I decided to go to Charleston for the day. I had told her all about going to Charleston on MLK Jr. Day and she really wanted to go as well. It was a sunny day (unlike MLK Jr. Day when it was cloudy) so I thought it would be nice to get some photos in the sun. We left Columbia around 9 am and arrived in Charleston around 11 am. We decided to go to Angel Oak Tree first, since that was something I hadn’t done yet, even though I had been to Charleston twice. The tree was huge!! It is a southern live oak and is estimated to be 500 years old! It is 66 feet tall and it’s longest branch is 187 feet long! After walking around the tree for awhile, we headed downtown and went to the Charleston City Market. My mom liked the market. We had lunch at Mac’s Place, which was a great little pub. We then walked around and saw the Pineapple Fountain and Rainbow Row. We then decided to head over to Mount Pleasant and found the Mount Pleasant Pier Park. We strolled along the pier, which is underneath the Arthur Ravenel Bridge, for a little and then headed off to Sullivan’s Island to go to the beach. Unfortunately it was starting to get cloudy and windy, so the beach was cold! We walked around for a little and saw the lighthouse then we decided to head home. I wanted to touch the water to see how cold it was but the tide had just gone out and the beach was all wet and I didn’t want to ruin my tennis shoes. We left Charleston around 4 pm and arrived back in Columbia around 6pm. It was a great way to spend a Saturday!

Leave a Reply

