Go Cocks!

Saturday, February 27th, 10:39 PM:

Today my dad and I started on our trip to Columbia, South Carolina to visit the University of South Carolina! I am interviewing for a spot in their Higher Education and Student Affairs Master’s Program. We left New Concord, Ohio around 8:00 AM and arrived in Columbia around 5:30 PM. We had dinner at Outback Steakhouse and now we are getting ready for bed.

Sunday, February 28th, 8:59 PM:

This morning, around 10 AM, I was picked up by my USC buddy, Patrick and taken to his apartment complex to have brunch with a bunch of current students and GARPEES (that’s what they call the people coming to visit). The brunch was delicious and I was able to meet a lot of new people and see a girl named Allison, who I met at FSU’s visiting days. We then headed over to the campus for our campus tour. The campus is absolutely beautiful! Then we went to Williams-Brice Stadium and sat in the club seats to learn about the program and the faculty. We had a potluck dinner with all of the current students. I just got back to the hotel and am preparing for my interviews tomorrow.

Monday, February 29th, 11:05 PM:

This morning/afternoon I had six interviews for graduate assistantships. In order for me to attended USC, I have to be offered an assistantship. In the afternoon, my USC buddy, Patrick, was still in class, so Claire, a girl in the HESA program, took myself and her buddy back to her apartment to relax. Her apartment was a little further away from campus but it was really nice! She has a balcony that overlooks the Broad River. After hanging out for an hour or so, we headed to the Capstone building to have dinner and hear from undergraduate students about why they like USC. I’m now back at the hotel packing up to leave tomorrow and preparing for my second-round interviews.

Tuesday, March 1st, 11:22 PM:

Today I had my two second round interviews. I finished up at 11:30 AM, so my dad and I went and looked at some apartments. Around 1 PM, my dad and I began our journey home. Unfortunatley, around 4 PM we got stuck in traffic around the boarder of North Carolina and Virginia because two tractor trailers hit each other and one spilled liquid adhesive all over the road and the interstate was shut down. I even saw a family playing wiffle ball on the side of the road! After sitting in traffic for about an hour, we were finally able to get off at an exit and we took a back road to get back to the interstate in front of the accident. We made it back to New Concord around 10 PM. Overall, it was a fantastic trip (even though it was stressful at times!!) and I hope I get an assistantship offer!

Leave a Reply

