His Name is Alfredo, Like the Pasta?

Today we had class in the morning. After class, some of my classmates and I went to get lunch. We ate at a little café, near the Gloucester Road tube station, that served sandwiches. I had a BLT sandwich, which was good! After getting lunch, we all parted ways. I ended up going shopping in Hammersmith. While walking around, I saw something that really warmed my heart. I saw a group of people carrying boxes and walking around handing out sandwiches to the homeless people. I thought that was an amazing thing for them to do. After shopping, I headed back to our hostel to drop my bags off. Some of my classmates and I then decided to get dinner before we were scheduled to go to the opera. We ended up going to Fratelli La Bufala. It was a cute little Italian place. I order lasagna and it was absolutely fantastic! It was the perfect size too, not too much and not too little. Following dinner, we went to the English National Opera to see La Traviata.

The actors in the opera where phenomenal and very talented, but the plot was somewhat lacking. The entire opera was about the love affair between the two main characters Violetta and Alfredo. There really wasn’t a whole lot more to the story other than that Violetta gets sick and Alfredo’s father breaks Violetta and Alfredo up. Also, the set was very minimal, so there wasn’t really much to look at while you were listening to the singers. The set consisted of one dining chair and curtains. That was it… Throughout the opera, the actors pushed and pulled the curtains themselves. However, near the end of the opera, they pulled the curtains down, so some of the characters started to mime pulling the curtains closed. I thought that was very strange and I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to be symbolic or not. Overall, the opera was good, but it could have definitely been better. After the opera, we stopped at a pub along the Strand on our way home. I ended up getting a strawberry and lime cider. It was absolutely delicious! I looked it up to see if I can get it in the States, but unfortunately it is only available in New York, Florida, Georgia, and Alabama.

One thought on “His Name is Alfredo, Like the Pasta?

  1. I guess when you come to Florida we will have to find one of the strawberry and lime hard cider drinks for you. Sounds like you are having a wonderful time. Glad you had a nice time at the Opera. 😊😊😊😊😊😊❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

