‘Ello Again!

This is my 3rd trip to London. The first time I visited the city was with my parents after my high school graduation in the summer of 2011. The second time I visited the city, I studied abroad through Pitt Study Abroad and spent 6 weeks in London in the summer of 2013. Now I am back to study abroad for Spring Break in 2015. I’m sensing a pattern and I am hoping I can return again in 2017; however, that will depend on what happens to me after I graduate this coming April! The first day in London was a day to get oriented. We started off by taking a brief walking tour of Camden (the neighborhood where we are staying). When I had been to London before, I had only briefly visited Camden, so I am quite excited to be spending some time here. Camden is home to a lively music scene and the world-famous Camden Markets, which are absolutely amazing! They used to be horse stables, but now, each stable has been turned into a different shop. After walking around Camden, we took the tube to Leicester Square to find our bus tour. We ended up walking around Trafalgar Square for a little. There was a demonstration going on about Women’s Rights, but we were still able to see the square and get to where we needed to be.

We went on a bus tour to familiarize ourselves with the city. We saw all of the major landmarks, including Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Buckingham Palace, and many others. The bus tour was nice, but it was veryย cold sitting on the open-air top part. Even thought the top of the bus was cold, it was worth it because we were able to get much better pictures and see the sights from a higher vantage point. As the bus tour was ending, we went across the Thames and we were treated to a fantastic sunset overlooking Big Ben and the London Eye.

After the bus tour, Alekya, Chris, and I came back to Camden and had dinner at a Thai restaurant. The food was very good; not too spicy, but not too mild. I had sweet and sour chicken; I don’t know much about Thai food, so I figured that it would be ok since I’ve had sweet and sour chicken in the States. After that, we decided to return to our hostel, even though it was only 8:30pm. We had been traveling for what seemed like forever and we were all ready to shower and go to sleep!

One thought on “‘Ello Again!

  1. This blog is fabulous. I am enjoying reading each day and for myself it is like being right back there. Thank you for the awesome descriptions and fantastic pictures. Keep having fun!!!๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

