Look at the Nature, Man

This morning my dad had to go to his conference, so my mom and I started to pack up our stuff to head home tomorrow. My mom and I had brunch at the hotel. My dad was finished around noon, so we headed out to go on our final bus ride to see the south side of the city. We went past City Hall again, the Asian Art Museum, Japantown, and the Music District before hopping off in the Golden Gate Park to go to the California Academy of Sciences.

The California Academy of Sciences was really cool! We started at the roof and worked our way down. They have a living roof, which means that the roof is full of different types of plants. We then walked through the rainforest. There were birds and butterflys flying around us. My mom even got a butterfly to land on her hand! Unfortunately, I couldn’t get my camera out in time. While in the canapy layer of the rainforest, we could look down at the people below the pond. As we kept walking, we were able to then look up through the pond at where we had been. We saw fish and penguins too!

After wandering around the California Academy of Sciences for awhile, we hopped back on the bus tour. We went down Haight Street and saw the corner of Haight and Ashbury Street. Our tour guide told us that it is where hippie culture started. We then went past the Painted Ladies, which are a row of homes made famous from the tv show Full House.

For dinner we went to the Cheescake Factory at Union Square. It was on the 6th floor and overlooked the square. Now we are back at our hotel, packing and getting ready to head back home tomorrow. This was a great trip and I’m glad I was able to see the West Coast!

Leave a Reply

